Don’t Lose Touch

 I stood at the edge of San Francisco

a wind blowing and people gone dark

and I remember.The shower’s I took

with cigarettes ashes flooding the drains

in fatality to a less statued

version of Me.

I could move

we moved together

you left college to live with your lover

I lost you to Las Vegas

with lights and false promises.

I stayed

and waited for word.

I mourned for the loss

the loss of the people

I burned cigarettes

in the bathtub floor to get my own solace

to see reflected the ability to fade.

I stand at the edge of San Francisco

as

the people walk past.

And I start over. 

Leave a Reply

